West Bloomfield Township Public Library
⮜ More Featured Titles

Black Lives Matter (Kids)

Share these books and start important conversations about social justice with children.

Little leaders : bold women in black history by Harrison, Vashti

Featuring forty trailblazing black women in American history, this book educates and inspires as it relates true stories of breaking boundaries and achieving beyond expectations, bringing to life both iconic and lesser-known female figures of black history such as abolitionist Sojourner Truth, pilot Bessie Coleman, chemist Alice Ball, politician Shirley Chisholm, mathematician Katherine Johnson, poet Maya Angelou, and filmmaker Julie Dash

Changing the equation : 50+ US Black women in STEM by Bolden, Tonya

"Award-winning author Tonya Bolden explores the black women who have changed the world of STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) in America. Including groundbreaking computer scientists, doctors, inventors, physicists, pharmacists, mathematicians, aviators, and many more, this book celebrates over 50 women who have shattered the glass ceiling, defied racial discrimination, and pioneered in their fields. In these profiles, young readers will find role models, inspirations, and maybe evenreasons to be the STEM leaders of tomorrow. These stories help young readers to dream big and stay curious. The book includes endnotes, a bibliography, and an index"--

Chasing freedom : the life journeys of Harriet Tubman and Susan B. Anthony, inspired by historical facts by Grimes, Nikki

In this imaginative biographical story, Harriet Tubman and Susan B. Anthony sit down over a cup of tea in 1904 to reminisce about their struggles and triumphs in the service of freedom and women's rights

She did it! : 21 women who changed the way we think by McCully, Emily Arnold

Offers an illustrated exploration of the inspiring lives of twenty-one women who challenged the status quo of their day and made an impact on the world.

HerStory : 50 women and girls who shook up the world by Halligan, Katherine (Children's book editor)

"Move aside history--it's time for herstory. Celebrate fifty inspiring and powerful women who changed the world and left their mark in this lavishly illustrated biography compilation that's perfect for fans of Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls and She Persisted. Throughout history, girls have often been discussed in terms of what they couldn't or shouldn't do. Not anymore. It's time for herstory--a celebration of not only what girls can do, but the remarkable things women have already accomplished, even when others tried to stop them. In this uplifting and inspiring book, follow the stories of fifty powerhouse women from around the world and across time who each managed to change the world as they knew it forever. Telling the stories of their childhood, the challenges they faced, and the impact of their achievements, each lavishly illustrated spread is a celebration of girl power in its many forms. From astronauts to activists, musicians to mathematicians, these women are sure to motivate young readers of all backgrounds to focus not on the can'ts and shouldn'ts, but on what they can do: anything!"--

Ona Judge outwits the Washingtons : an enslaved woman fights for freedom by Hooks, Gwendolyn

"Soon after American colonists had won independence from Great Britain, Ona Judge was fighting for her own freedom from one of America's most famous founding fathers, George Washington. George and Martha Washington valued Ona as one of their most skilledand trustworthy slaves, but she would risk everything to achieve complete freedom. Born into slavery at Mount Vernon, Ona seized the opportunity to escape when she was brought to live in the President's Mansion in Philadelphia. Ona fled to New Hampshire and started a new life. But the Washingtons wouldn't give up easily. After her escape, Ona became the focus of a years-long manhunt, led by America's first president. Gwendolyn Hooks' vivid and detailed prose captures the danger, uncertainty, and persistence Ona Judge experienced during and after her heroic escape."--Provided by publisher.

When Harriet met Sojourner by Clinton, Catherine

We rise, we resist, we raise our voices

A collection of art, essays, letters, poems, and stories celebrates standing up against prejudice and racism, and includes entries by such authors as Kwame Alexander, Kat Williams-Garcia, Jacqueline Woodson, and Jason Reynolds.

Protest movements : then and now by Braun, Eric

Traces the history of dissent in the United States from the civil rights, anti-Vietnam War, and other movements of the 1960s, and the era's counterculture, and describes both subsequent progress and the way things have not changed to this day.

What was the March on Washington? by Krull, Kathleen

Describes the 1963 March on Washington, helmed by Martin Luther King, Jr., where over two hundred thousand people gathered to demand equal rights for all races, and explains why this event is still important in American history today

Sit-in : how four friends stood up by sitting down by Pinkney, Andrea Davis

A celebration of the momentous Woolworth's lunch counter sit-in when four college students staged a peaceful protest that became a defining moment in the struggle for racial equality and the growing Civil Rights Movement

The youngest marcher : the story of Audrey Faye Hendricks, a young civil rights activist by Levinson, Cynthia

What lane? by Maldonado, Torrey

Biracial sixth-grader Stephen questions the limitations society puts on him after he notices the way strangers treat him when he hangs out with his white friends and learns about the Black Lives Matter movement.

A good kind of trouble by Ramée, Lisa Moore

After attending a powerful protest, Shayla starts wearing an armband to school to support the Black Lives Matter movement, but when the school gives her an ultimatum, she is forced to choose between her education and her identity.

If you're going to a march by Freeman, Martha

Answers many questions about participating in a march, including what to wear, how to get there, and why marching is important.

We are the change : words of inspiration from civil rights leaders ; with an introduction by Harry Belafonte. by Alko, Selino

Little legends : exceptional men in black history by Harrison, Vashti

Profiles thirty-five prominent men in African American history, including James Armistead Lafayette, Thurgood Marshall, Alvin Ailey, and Leland Melvin.

A child's introduction to African American history : the experience, people, and events that shaped our country by Asim, Jabari

"Critically acclaimed writer Jabari Asim guides readers ages 9-12 through the history of African Americans, from the slave trade to the Black Lives Matter movement, in the latest volume in Black Dog's bestselling, award-winning Child's Introduction series. This illustrated introduction to African American history goes beyond what's taught in the classroom giving young readers a more comprehensive look at this timely and important topic. Author Jabari Asim chronicles the story of African Americansfrom the slave trader through the American Revolution and the Civil War to the Tuskegee experiments, the Civil Rights movement, the election of Barack Obama. Sections throughout highlight the contribution of African Americans to the arts, music, literature, culture, sports and more. Lives of inspiring African American artists, inventors, and politicians including Harriet Tubman, Langston Hughes, Oprah Winfrey, Louis Armstrong, Serena Williams, are featured as well. Following in the tradition of Black Dog's best-selling Child's Introduction books, which include The Story of the Orchestra and A Child's Introduction to the Night Sky, A Child's Introduction to African American History includes 120 charming illustrations that bring the people and events to life. The book also features interactive projects that kids can do on their own or with their guardians including recipes and crafts"--

Marley Dias by Benjamin, Jenny

"Offers a biography of child activist Marley Dias and explores how she has made a difference for other young girls."--Provided by publisher.

Pies from nowhere : how Georgia Gilmore sustained the Montgomery bus boycott by Romito, Dee

"Georgia decided to help the best way she knew how. She worked together with a group of women and together they purchased the supplies they needed--bread, lettuce, and chickens. And off they went to cook. The women brought food to the mass meetings that followed at the church. They sold sandwiches. They sold dinners in their neighborhoods. As the boycotters walked and walked, Georgia cooked and cooked. Georgia Gilmore was a cook at the National Lunch Company in Montgomery, Alabama. When the bus boycotts broke out in Montgomery after Rosa Parks was arrested, Georgia knew just what to do. She organized a group of women who cooked and baked to fund-raise for gas and cars to help sustain the boycott. Called the Club from Nowhere, Georgia was the only person who knew who baked and bought the food, and she said the money came from "nowhere" to anyone who asked. When Martin Luther King Jr. was arrested for his role in the boycott, Georgia testified on his behalf, and her home became a meeting place for civil rights leaders. This picture book highlights a hidden figure of the civil rights movement who fueled the bus boycotts and demonstrated that one person can make a real change in her community and beyond"--

Hands up! by McDaniel, Breanna J

"A young girl lifts her hands up in a series of everyday moments before finally raising her hands in resistance at a protest march"--

The breaking news by Reul, Sarah Lynne

When devastating news rattles a young girl's community, she tries her hardest to respond to it as compassionately and positively as possible.
⮜ More Featured Titles
National Medal Recipient of the National Medal, the nation's highest honor for libraries.