West Bloomfield Township Public Library
⮜ More Featured Titles

History In the Making - Women's Rights (Kids)

Read one of these nonfiction books to learn more about Women’s Rights & Achievements.

Who is Michelle Obama? by Stine, Megan

Presents the life and accomplishments of the First Lady of the United States, from her childhood in Chicago and her career as a lawyer to her marriage to Barack Obama and her initiatives in the White House

Who was Coretta Scott King? by Herman, Gail

Who was Maya Angelou? by Labrecque, Ellen

Describes the life and writing career of the author of "I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings," from her youth in Arkansas to her civil rights activism.

Who was Sojourner Truth? by McDonough, Yona Zeldis

"Almost 100 years before Rosa Parks refused to give up her bus seat, Sojourner Truth was mistreated by a streetcar conductor. She took him to court--and won! Before she was Sojourner Truth, she was known simply as Belle. Born a slave in New York sometimearound 1797, she was later sold and separated from her family. Even after she escaped from slavery, she knew her work was not yet done. She changed her name and traveled, inspiring everyone she met and sharing her story until her death in 1883 at age eighty-six. In this easy-to-read biography, Yona Zeldis McDonough continues to share that remarkable story"--

Who is Sonia Sotomayor? by Stine, Megan

Describes the life and accomplishments of the United States Supreme Court justice

Who is Malala Yousafzai? by Brown, Dinah

Malala Yousafzai was a girl who loved to learn but was told that girls would no longer be allowed to go to school. She wrote a blog that called attention to what was happening in her beautiful corner of Pakistan and realized that words can bring about change. She has continued to speak out for the right of all children to have an education. In 2014 she won the Nobel Peace Prize

Little leaders : bold women in black history by Harrison, Vashti

Featuring forty trailblazing black women in American history, this book educates and inspires as it relates true stories of breaking boundaries and achieving beyond expectations, bringing to life both iconic and lesser-known female figures of black history such as abolitionist Sojourner Truth, pilot Bessie Coleman, chemist Alice Ball, politician Shirley Chisholm, mathematician Katherine Johnson, poet Maya Angelou, and filmmaker Julie Dash

Changing the equation : 50+ US Black women in STEM by Bolden, Tonya

"Award-winning author Tonya Bolden explores the black women who have changed the world of STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) in America. Including groundbreaking computer scientists, doctors, inventors, physicists, pharmacists, mathematicians, aviators, and many more, this book celebrates over 50 women who have shattered the glass ceiling, defied racial discrimination, and pioneered in their fields. In these profiles, young readers will find role models, inspirations, and maybe evenreasons to be the STEM leaders of tomorrow. These stories help young readers to dream big and stay curious. The book includes endnotes, a bibliography, and an index"--

When you grow up to vote : how our government works for you by Roosevelt, Eleanor

"In the voice of one of the most iconic and beloved political figures of the twentieth century comes a book on citizenship for the future voters of the twenty-first century. Eleanor Roosevelt published the original edition of When You Grow Up to Vote in 1932, the same year her husband was elected president. The new edition has updated information and back matter as well as fresh, bold art from award-winning artist Grace Lin. Beginning with government workers like firefighters and garbage collectors, and moving up through local government to the national stage, this book explains that the people in government work the voter. Fresh, contemporary, and even fun, When You Grow Up to Vote is the book parents and teachers need to talk to children about how our government is designed to work"--Publisher

Ladies first : 40 daring American women who were second to none by Kimmel, Elizabeth Cody

Profiles forty women who were the first to do incredible feats, from swimming the English Channel to reaching the summit of Mt. Everest

Chasing freedom : the life journeys of Harriet Tubman and Susan B. Anthony, inspired by historical facts by Grimes, Nikki

In this imaginative biographical story, Harriet Tubman and Susan B. Anthony sit down over a cup of tea in 1904 to reminisce about their struggles and triumphs in the service of freedom and women's rights

She did it! : 21 women who changed the way we think by McCully, Emily Arnold

Offers an illustrated exploration of the inspiring lives of twenty-one women who challenged the status quo of their day and made an impact on the world.

HerStory : 50 women and girls who shook up the world by Halligan, Katherine (Children's book editor)

"Move aside history--it's time for herstory. Celebrate fifty inspiring and powerful women who changed the world and left their mark in this lavishly illustrated biography compilation that's perfect for fans of Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls and She Persisted. Throughout history, girls have often been discussed in terms of what they couldn't or shouldn't do. Not anymore. It's time for herstory--a celebration of not only what girls can do, but the remarkable things women have already accomplished, even when others tried to stop them. In this uplifting and inspiring book, follow the stories of fifty powerhouse women from around the world and across time who each managed to change the world as they knew it forever. Telling the stories of their childhood, the challenges they faced, and the impact of their achievements, each lavishly illustrated spread is a celebration of girl power in its many forms. From astronauts to activists, musicians to mathematicians, these women are sure to motivate young readers of all backgrounds to focus not on the can'ts and shouldn'ts, but on what they can do: anything!"--

Ona Judge outwits the Washingtons : an enslaved woman fights for freedom by Hooks, Gwendolyn

"Soon after American colonists had won independence from Great Britain, Ona Judge was fighting for her own freedom from one of America's most famous founding fathers, George Washington. George and Martha Washington valued Ona as one of their most skilledand trustworthy slaves, but she would risk everything to achieve complete freedom. Born into slavery at Mount Vernon, Ona seized the opportunity to escape when she was brought to live in the President's Mansion in Philadelphia. Ona fled to New Hampshire and started a new life. But the Washingtons wouldn't give up easily. After her escape, Ona became the focus of a years-long manhunt, led by America's first president. Gwendolyn Hooks' vivid and detailed prose captures the danger, uncertainty, and persistence Ona Judge experienced during and after her heroic escape."--Provided by publisher.

I am Billie Jean King by Meltzer, Brad

When Harriet met Sojourner by Clinton, Catherine

Who says women can't be doctors? : the story of Elizabeth Blackwell by Stone, Tanya Lee

An introduction to the life and achievements of the first American female doctor describes the limited career prospects available to women in the early nineteenth-century, the opposition Blackwell faced while pursuing a medical education, and her pioneering medical career that opened doors for future generations of women

Rise : from caged bird to poet of the people, Maya Angelou by Hegedus, Bethany

"A biography of African American writer, performer, and activist Maya Angelou, who turned a childhood of trauma and emotional pain to become one of the most inspiring voices of our lifetime. Includes afterword, author's note, and sources"--

Hillary Rodham Clinton : some girls are born to lead by Markel, Michelle

An introduction to the former first lady, senator, and secretary of state describes how she refuted period conventions against girls to become a lawyer and has supported important political and social causes to become a role model for women.

I dissent : Ruth Bader Ginsburg makes her mark by Levy, Debbie

Get to know celebrated Supreme Court justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg in the first picture book about her life
⮜ More Featured Titles
National Medal Recipient of the National Medal, the nation's highest honor for libraries.